Here at Spark, we take privacy very seriously and know there are users who create projects with a limited audience in mind. In addition, we also know there are many other users that would like to create public projects that can reach large audiences and be discoverable by anyone all throughout the internet. This page will go into detail about how you can achieve either based on your preferences. (Please keep in mind that projects created with Spark are meant to be viewed and shared publicly. Always use your best judgment when creating content and consider that it will be viewable by anyone with the URL, and may appear in search engines.)
- Public / On: If you turn on the "Get Noticed" option when publishing a project, this will give search engines permission to index your project, and have your project show up and get listed in search engine results.
- Unlisted / Off: If you turn off the "Get Noticed" option when publishing a project, this will create a noindex tag on your project page which may prevent your project from showing up and getting listed in search engine results. (Please note that search engines add/remove content on different schedules. It may take days or weeks in some cases. Not all search engines index content the same way. Although the NoIndex tag is respected by major search engines, there are some smaller search engines that that may not recognize it.)
Who can see my project?
- Until you click “Create Link” in the “Share” window, your projects are only viewable by you.
- When you click “Create Link” in the “Share” window, a unique URL is created. Anyone who has this URL may view your Spark project. You can deactivate this URL by clicking “Unpublish” in the options for your project on the “My Projects” page.
- For Spark projects created before 7/13/2016, they may appear in search engine results if the URL for the project is included on other websites. Going forward, Adobe will allow you to choose whether to have your project indexed and discoverable by search engines. To make these old projects unlisted, please unpublish them and republish them with the "Get Noticed" option turned off.
How can I make my existing project public or unlisted?
To change the privacy setting, click on "Edit Details" link in the "Share" window for your project. Here, you can update the "Get Noticed" option to On to make your project public, or Off to make your project unlisted. Once you make the change, simply click the "Save and Update Link" button for the new settings to take effect.
How do I default all of my future projects to either public or unlisted?
In the iOS apps, go to your settings by clicking the gear icon on the top left corner. Then click on "Restrictions". There, you will see an option for "Default to unlisted". Turn this option on to default all future projects to unlisted, or turn this option off to default all future projects to public.
On the web, click on the hamburger menu on the top left corner of your My Projects page. In that menu, click on your account name, and then click on "Settings". In your settings page, find the Restrictions section and you will see an option for "Default to unlisted". Turn this option on to default all future projects to unlisted, or turn this option off to default all future projects to public.
This option will sync across all of your devices when you modify it.
What happens to the privacy when I share a link?
When sharing a link to social media, to peers, or by embedding the project in another website, anyone with the URL to your project will be able to see your project. Furthermore, those third-party social media and other websites could potentially be listed in various search engines, so in these cases, your project could then become publicly discoverable. So if your project contains sensitive information, please consider where you are sharing the link to your project.