Follow

Privacy And Publishing: What does "Get noticed" mean?

Here at Spark, we take privacy very seriously and know that there are users who create projects with a limited audience in mind. Please note, however, that projects created with Spark are meant to be viewed and shared publicly. Though all published projects are tagged with "noindex" in an effort to have search engines ignore them, there is no guarantee that all search engines will respect this tag all the time. Always use your best judgment when creating content and consider that it will be viewable by anyone with the URL and may appear in search engines.     

Definitions:

  • Get Noticed: If you turn on the "Get Noticed" while publishing a project, you are giving Adobe permission to feature your project on our site.  This could include places like our Inspiration Gallery.  For Spark Post and Spark Video, you can find "Get Noticed" by clicking "Share" and then "Publish Options".  For Spark Page, you'll see the option directly after clicking "Publish".

Who can see my project?

  • Until you click “Create Link” in the “Share” window, your projects are only viewable by you.
  • When you click “Create Link” in the “Share” window, a unique URL is created. Anyone who has this URL may view your Spark project. You can deactivate this URL by clicking “Unpublish” in the options for your project on the “My Projects” page.

 

How do I default all of my future projects to have "Get Noticed" off?

In the iOS apps, go to your settings by clicking the gear icon on the top left corner. Then click on "Restrictions". There, you will see an option for "Default to not featured". Turn this option on to default all future projects to have "Get Noticed" off.

On the web, click user icon on the top right of the My Projects page, and then hit "Setting". On your settings page, find the Restrictions section and you will see an option for "Default to not featured". Turn this option on to default all future projects to have "Get Noticed" off.

This option will sync across all of your devices when you modify it.

What happens to the privacy when I share a link?

When sharing a link to social media, to peers, or by embedding the project in another website, anyone with the URL to your project will be able to see your project. Furthermore, those third-party social media and other websites could potentially be listed in various search engines, so in these cases, your project could then become publicly discoverable. So if your project contains sensitive information, please consider where you are sharing the link to your project.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
7 out of 9 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request